Cape May City, New Jersey

August 12, 2020
6:30 AM

Print this page Print this page Email this page Email this page

Page Navigation


Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission was established to protect our National Historic Landmark Status. Along with their other significant responsibilities the HPC accepts and reviews exterior changes to our historic structures. HPC applications play a vital role in protecting our historic resources.

  1. Go to Questions and Answers on the role of the HPC.
  2. HPC Application
  3. HPC Design Standards (this is a very large document that will take longer to download) 

1st appointments under Council-Manager Form pursuant to Ordinance No. 07-2004.

 Chapter 10, Section 120 and Chapter 525 of the Revised General Ordinances of the City of Cape May

                                                         Seven Regular Members

                                                          Two Alternate Members

One (1) member appointed for a one(1) year term

Two (2) members appointed for a two (2) year term

Two (2) members appointed for a three (3) year term

Two (2) members appointed for a four (4) year term

Thereafter the term of each regular member shall be for four (4) years. All terms shall begin on July 1 of the year in which the appointment is made.

At the time of appointment, at least one (1) member shall be designated from each of the following classes:

Class A - A person who is knowledgeable in building design and construction or architectural history and who may reside outside the municipality; and,

Class B - A person who is knowledgeable, or with a demonstrated interest in, local history and who may reside outside the municipality; and

Class C - Citizens of the municipality who shall hold no other municipal office, position or employment except for membership on the Planning Board or Zoning Board of Adjustment. Class C members should have at minimum a demonstrated interest in history, historic preservation or a related field.

Alternate members shall meet the qualifications of Class C members.  At the time of appointment, alternate members shall be designated as "Alternate No. 1" and "Alternate No. 2".  Of the seven (7) regular members, at least one less than a majority shall be of Classes A and B.


Warren Coupland
Tom Carroll
Corbin Cogswell
Chairperson-Class C
Vice Chairperson-Class B
Class A Member
David Clemans Class B Member 12/31/2023
James Testa Class B Member 12/31/2022
Tom Cataldo Class C Member 12/31/2023
Janice Wilson Stridick Class B Member 12/31/2022
Yvonne T. Ryan Alternate I 12/31/2020
Joseph "Jake" Stevenson Alternate II 12/31/2023
Zach Mullock Council Liaison 12/31/2020
Robert Fineberg Solicitor 12/31/2020
Karen Keenan Board Secretary  
HPC SOLICITOR: Robert A. Fineberg, Esq., 208 North Main Street
                                  Cape May Court House, NJ 08210, as of January 1, 2020
MEETINGS:3rd Monday at 6:00 P. M. in the Auditorium


Copyright © 2016 City of Cape May, NJ. All Rights Reserved.

Web Site Disclaimer & Privacy Policy
Questions or Problems? Please contact the webmaster.

To view PDF documents on this web site, you can obtain a free download of Adobe Reader by clicking the Adobe image below.

Powered by Cit-e-Net