General Information
HPC Secretary
Judy Decker
HPC Compliance Officer
Bruce Britton
Planning Board/Zoning Board
Board Secretary
Karen Keenan
Shade Tree
Nancy Mohan
Environmental Commission
Meryl Nelson
643 Washington Street
Cape May,

Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission was established to protect our National Historic Landmark Status. Along with their other significant responsibilities the HPC accepts and reviews exterior changes to our historic structures. HPC applications play a vital role in protecting our historic resources.

  1. Go to Questions and Answers on the role of the HPC.
  2. HPC Application
  3. HPC Design Standards (this is a very large document that will take longer to download)
  4. Cape May Historic District Map

    Sample Historic Preservation Survey

1st appointments under Council-Manager Form pursuant to Ordinance No. 07-2004.

Chapter 10, Section 120 and Chapter 525 of the Revised General Ordinances of the City of Cape May

Seven Regular Members
Two Alternate Members
One (1) member appointed for a one(1) year term
Two (2) members appointed for a two (2) year term
Two (2) members appointed for a three (3) year term
Two (2) members appointed for a four (4) year term

Thereafter the term of each regular member shall be for four (4) years. All terms shall begin on July 1 of the year in which the appointment is made.

At the time of appointment, at least one (1) member shall be designated from each of the following classes:

Class A - A person who is knowledgeable in building design and construction or architectural history and who may reside outside the municipality; and,

Class B - A person who is knowledgeable, or with a demonstrated interest in, local history and who may reside outside the municipality; and

Class C - Citizens of the municipality who shall hold no other municipal office, position or employment except for membership on the Planning Board or Zoning Board of Adjustment. Class C members should have at minimum a demonstrated interest in history, historic preservation or a related field.

Alternate members shall meet the qualifications of Class C members.  At the time of appointment, alternate members shall be designated as "Alternate No. 1" and "Alternate No. 2".  Of the seven (7) regular members, at least one less than a majority shall be of Classes A and B.

Warren CouplandChairperson-Class C12/31/2024
Tom CarrollVice Chairperson-Class B12/31/2025
Corbin CogswellClass A Member12/31/2024
Philippa Campbell
Class B Member12/31/2023
James TestaClass C Member12/31/2022
Beatrice Gauvry-PessagnoClass C Member12/31/2023
Janice Wilson StridickClass C Member12/31/2022
Joseph StevensonAlternate I12/31/2022
John BoeckerAlternate II12/31/2023
Lorraine BaldwinCouncil Liaison12/31/2022
Robert FinebergSolicitor12/31/2022
Judy DeckerSecretary to the Commission 



HPC SOLICITOR:  Robert A. Fineberg, Esq., 208 North Main Street, Cape May Court House, NJ 08210, as of June 28, 1999

MEETINGS:  3rd Monday at 6:00 P. M. in the Auditorium