General Information
Tax & Utility Collector
Deborah A. Lindholm
Senior Tax & Utility Account Clerk
Lisa Brown
Tax & Utility Account Clerk
Jennifer Fleck
643 Washington St
Cape May,

Monday - Friday
7:30am - 3:30pm

Tax Collector

The 2024 Final & 2025 Preliminary Tax Bills will be mailed upon certification of the

2024 tax rate. At this time, August & November 2024 and February & May 2025 tax amounts are not available.



Billing, Collecting, Reporting, Enforcement of municipal taxes

Tax Collector is obligated to follow all State Statutes regarding the collection of property taxes including billing, due dates, interest, and tax sale.

  • Tax bills are to be forwarded upon sale of property between buyer and seller. Failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve the owner from paying taxes, interest applies to all late payments.
  • Tax bills are mailed once annually in June or July, once the City of Cape May has received the certified tax rate
  • Encompasses the second half of the current year (August & November) as well as an estimated first half of the subsequent year (February & May).
  • Should you not receive or misplace your bill, please contact this office for another copy.
  • Payments can be mailed, paid online, or placed in our drop box located in our parking lot, next to the rear corner of the Fire Department closest to the Washington Street entrance.
  • Please notify the tax office of any address change in writing via mail or email.


Please notify the Tax Collector's Office of any change in address via email or by completing and returning the Change of Address form to the Collector's Office.

***Change of address applies to both Taxes & Utilities


New Jersey State Law: Whether you receive a bill or not, you are charged with the responsibility to ensure your payments are received on or before the due date.


(Mandated under N.J.S.A. 54:4-66)

February 1st, May 1st, August 1st, and November 1st

The State of New Jersey does not permit postmark. No grace period is allotted for the City of Cape May with one exception.

The August 1st installment may be granted a grace period of 25 days from the date of mailing if the bills are delayed. The grace period allotted will be printed

on the August 1 coupon under the name and property address. It will also be posted on the top of this page.

If the first falls on a weekend or holiday, payment is due the next business day following the weekend or holiday, without interest.


In-Person: Bring your payment in to the Tax Office Monday through Friday 7:30am - 3:30pm

Drop Box: Located on the side entrance to City Hall (please do not use the payment box for the court)

Online: Payments accepted online at for a nominal fee.

Mail: Mail your payment early enough to reach Cape May City Hall before the due date.

The State of New Jersey does not permit postmark. Taxes must be received in the Collector's Office on or before the state

mandated due date listed on the Tax Bill Coupon.

ACH Withdrawal: Please complete ACH Form and attach a voided check in advance





To receive a receipt, you must send the entire tax bill & a self-addressed stamped envelope. No receipts will

be returned if the tax bill & envelope are not accompanying payment.


8% per annum on the first $1,500.00 of a delinquency and 18% per annum on any delinquency in excessive of $1,500.00

To receive a receipt for tax/utility payments, please forward the entire bill with a self-addressed, stamped envelope.

A 6% year-end penalty will be assessed at the close of business on the last business day of the year for any delinquency (taxes & utilities) in excess

of $10,000 owed for that calendar year.

There is a $20.00 returned payment fee for any item not honored by the bank.

Daniel's Law:

If you are an active or retired Judge, Prosecutor, or Law Enforcement Officer, the State of New Jersey enacted Daniel's Law in late 2020 to "prohibit persons, State and Local Agencies, and businesses from posting or publishing on the internet

the home address or unpublished telephone numbers of eligible individuals & their families. If you are unsure whether you qualify under Daniel's Law or to sign up for Daniel's Law, please visit the Daniel's Law Portal at


For information regarding State Property Tax Relief Programs, including eligibility criterion and potential deduction or credit amounts, please visit the Division of Taxation's website at

  • Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze) - State funded reimbursement program for qualified applicants for property tax increases incurred each year following the base year. The base year is the first year applicant applies and meets eligibility requirements. Property owner would pay the amount of taxes due each quarter and then be reimbursed from the State of New Jersey for the amount of taxes paid over the base amount.
  • Anchor Program (Replaced Homestead Rebate) - State funded property tax relief program available to New Jersey Residents who owned or rented their principle residence and meet the income requirements
    • You are considered a homeowner if, on October 1st of the prior tax year, you 1.) Owned a house 2.) Owned a condominium and paid taxes on your unit 3.) Were a resident shareholder of a cooperative housing complex or 4.) Were a resident of a continuing care retirement community and your continuing care contract requires you to pay the proportionate share of property taxes attributable to your unit.
    • You are considered a tenant if, on October 1st of the prior tax year, you 1.) Rented an apartment, condominium, or house or 2.) Rented or owned a mobile home located in a mobile home park
    • Public inquires may be made to 1-800-882-6597 or email
  • Annual Deduction for Veterans: Annual deduction of up to $250 on the taxes due from real property of qualified war veterans and their unmarried surviving spouse/surviving civil union partners/surviving domestic partners. Apply with the Tax Assessor's Office.
  • Annual Deduction for Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons: Annual deduction of up to $250 on the taxes due from real property for homeowners age 65 or older by December 31st of the prior tax year, whom also meet the resident, income, and other eligibility criteria


The Tax Collector's Office took over the billing & collecting of water/sewer bills August 1, 2022.

Water/Sewer is billed quarterly as listed below. Each property is billed a base rate for the first 5,000 gallons and an excess charge per 1,000 gallons over 5,000.

Quarters/Billing Dates:

Quarter 1: January 1 - March 31: Billed April

Quarter 2: April 1 - June 30: Billed July

Quarter 3: July 1 - September 30: Billed October

Quarter 4: October 1 - December 31: Billed January

Water/Sewer bills are due 20 days from the date mailed. If the due date falls on a weekend or a holiday, the bills will be due the next business day.

Delinquent notices will be mailed approximately 10 days after the due date and will include a $5.00 Late Notice charge. The Delinquent notice will be due 15 days from the date mailed.

Failure to pay by the delinquent notice due date, may result in termination of service. Additional fees will be assessed and the delinquency will be subject to Tax Sale in accordance with New Jersey Tax Sale Law.

Property Transfers:

If you are selling your property, a Final Water Reading must be requested by the Title Company or Attorney handling the Closing for the date of settlement. There is a $50.00 fee required for the final reading which will be included in the total.

The final reading is only the seller's portion of water/sewer usage from the beginning of the quarter to the date of settlement. The buyer will receive a separate bill at the end of the quarter, please do not prorate this invoice.

Final Reading Requests may be emailed to


Please report all leaks or usage issues to Donna Roth in the Water Department. Donna may be reached at 609-884-9575 or